Henrietta Maddox Webloner


The telesales blues…
February 4, 2009, 8:48 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yes – I am a writer. But I have to pay my bills somehow. Have to keep up my momentum and discipline too. So I have been working in a call centre. I know what you’re thinking – scum of the earth. Well, that’s what people say about anyone doing an activated job. Anyway, what do you think it’s like for me? Making calls to people I don’t know all day is a monotonous and soul destroying task in reality.

But there are ways around that. Making sales is a good way to keep up your sprits, of course.  But making sales is tough (usually because of the monotony). You need the tone and inflection in conversation that is as perky as having a spring in your step. There has to be connection in the first split second. And you will be constantly turned down, no matter how charismatic you are. So you need to have resilience, stamina and a vast amount of good energy reserved.

No matter what you do, though, sometimes this isn’t enough. Sometimes, the governing forces of the universe are against you. The more you struggle, the less energy you have. Without knowing why, you’ll end up on a downward spiral with no hope of even one sale. This quandary, I have yet to figure out. It is the quest for my success.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

