Henrietta Maddox Webloner


Staying in the lines
August 10, 2008, 8:33 pm
Filed under: Friendships, Mental Well Being, Uncategorized

Do you ever wish that you could stand up for yourself in a better manner? Or have the capability to handle dodgy social situations and problems, as they arise, with grace? I do – I am terrible at it.

I react in one of two extreme ways when people are out of order. I am either reserved and pretend there is nothing happening OR I flip out. If I lose all composure, I risk losing friendships and at the very least, look like a complete moron. If I ignore the person’s bad behaviour towards me, I will resent them. Often, I wonder how I have any self respect left.

It is not, necessarily, a question of whether I am right or wrong to be upset. But as I lose my rag, or don’t address the situation, I become the pathetic one that is out of order. Perhaps even crazy.

Why can’t we all just be like our heroes or heroines: closer to perfect?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

